Houston | Personal Injury Lawyers

Spokesperson William Shatner

Free Case Evaluation

Types Of Insurance Coverage For Car Accidents

Make Sure You Are Covered in Case of an Accident in Houston

When it comes to car insurance, Texas is a "fault" state. This means that the driver who caused the accident is generally considered responsible for paying the damages. Our car accident attorneys know that whether you were at fault for an accident or not, it's important to make sure you are covered for all types of situations.

No matter what state you're in, you are required to carry certain amounts of coverage. Below are general guidelines for car insurance in Texas. For more details, see Texas's Web site on auto insurance guidelines.

Liability Coverage

In many states, drivers are required by law to have a minimum amount of liability coverage. Liability coverage is insurance that pays for damages to others if you cause an accident.

In Texas, liability coverage is required. Your policy must provide at least $30,000 per person for bodily injury, $60,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. (See Texas transportation code, Section 601.072.)

Remember, liability insurance pays only to settle claims or pay judgments against you if you are found negligent.

Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Benefits

To protect yourself in the event you are in an accident with someone who has no insurance or not enough insurance, you can purchase a coverage known as uninsured or underinsured motorist benefits. This allows you to get paid by your own insurance company if a negligent driver does not have enough liability insurance to pay your bills.

In Texas, this type of insurance will cover up to your policy's dollar limits. It also will pay for damages caused by a hit-and-run driver if you promptly report the accident to the police.

Contact a Car and Truck Accident Lawyer with Our Firm

At Smith & Hassler, an experienced personal injury attorney will assist you or your loved one in your case. Call (713) 739-1250 for your free personal injury consultation today.

Remember, your initial consultation is free, and you don't pay us unless you win.