You Deserve Justice if You Are Injured by the Negligence of an Uninsured Driver
While all drivers in Texas are required to carry auto insurance, the fact is some of them don't. Some feel they can't afford it, others may have suspended licenses and aren't supposed to be driving at all. Our car accident attorneys know that the risk of being hit by an uninsured driver is real and that it's important to make sure you are protected.
In Texas, a motorist's policy must provide at least $30,000 per person for bodily injury, $60,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. But there is other optional coverage that can help protect you in certain situations.
To protect yourself from having to cover your medical and other expenses due to an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, you can purchase a coverage known as uninsured or underinsured motorist benefits. This allows you to get paid by your own insurance company if a negligent driver has no insurance or not enough liability insurance to pay for your bills.
Without this coverage, you could choose to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. But that driver may not have enough assets to pay you.
In Texas, this type of coverage will cover up to your policy's dollar limits. It also will pay for damages caused by a hit-and-run driver if you promptly report the accident to the police.
Contact a Lawyer with Our Firm Specializing in Uninsured Driver Cases
At Smith & Hassler, our experienced attorneys can handle the insurance company for you if you've been in an accident with an uninsured driver.
Our law firm serves the greater metropolitan Houston area. When you contact us, one of our experienced lawyers can help if you or a loved one was injured by the negligence of an uninsured driver.
Remember, your initial consultation is free, and you don't pay us unless you win.